New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse Of The Year Awards

2 min read

Crowning glory for Bonneval

Top-class mare Bonneval (NZ) (Makfi {GB}) has beaten off all-comers to retain her New Zealand Horse of the Year title. The country’s leading lady was crowned for the second successive year at Sunday evening’s NZ Thoroughbred Racing Awards in Auckland.

In a season when no runner posted more than one victory at the highest level, Bonneval’s Melbourne spring carnival success in the G1 Underwood S., following her G2 Dato Tan Chin Nam win, was more than enough for her to claim top domestic honours.

She is the fifth successive Horse of the Year winner trained by Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman, the record-breaking training partnership having prepared the 2014 winner Dundeel (NZ) (High Chaparral {IRE}), who was followed by Mongolian Khan (Holy Roman Emperor {IRE}) (2015 & 2016).

Karaka yearling purchase

Bonneval, who was also voted the champion middle distance performer, was a $150,000 Karaka purchase out of Westbury Stud’s draft for owners Terry Jarvis, Alastair Lawrence and John Rattray and has earned $1.68 million in stakes from just 12 starts.

The prestigious New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing Contribution to Racing Award went to prominent breeder Nelson Schick, who has been the driving force behind Windsor Park Stud.

Award Winners

Horse of the Year: Bonneval (NZ) (Makfi {GB}

Champion 2-year-old: Avantage (Fastnet Rock)

Champion 3-year-old: Savvy Coup (Savabeel)

Champion sprinter-miler: Kawi (Savabeel)

Champion middle distance horse: Bonneval

Champion stayer: Charles Road (Myboycharlie {IRE})

Champion jumper: Wise Men Say (NZ) (Yamanin Vital {NZ}).

Jockey of the Year: Sam Collett

Trainers of the Year: Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman

Jumps Jockey of the Year: Isaac Lupton

New Zealand Strapper of the Year: Jane Davidson (central)

Owner of the Year – sponsored by New Zealand Racing Board: JML Bloodstock

Owners’ Premiership: Sir Peter Vela.

NZTR Award for Contribution to Media, Digital & Content: Boys Get Paid

Breeder of the Year: Waikato Stud

Broodmare of the Year: Bagalollies (NZ) (Zabeel {NZ}).

Trainers’ premiership: Baker & Forsman

Jockeys’ premiership: Sam Collett

Apprentice Jockeys’ premiership: Sam Weatherley

Newcomer to training: Andrew Carston

New Zealand Bloodstock Filly of the Year: Dijon Bleu (NZ) (Burgundy {NZ})

Grosvenor Award (stallion earnings in NZ): Savabeel (Zabeel {NZ})

Dewar Stallion Trophy: (combined stallion earnings in NZ and Australia): Savabeel

Centaine Award: (stallion earnings worldwide) Savabeel

NZTR Award for Outstanding Contribution to Racing: Nelson Schick